Lentil Cauliflower Crock-pot Curry

I’m in the process of creating a few fun tidbits but I can’t share them just yet…so in the meantime, I wanted to share this delicious recipe I made up!

My crock-pot has become one of my most favourite kitchen tools.  When I’m working, I love coming home to the smell of a yummy meal and not having to do a thing – other than grab a bowl and dig in.  Now that I’m on maternity leave with two under two, I love that it saves me from having to try to get dinner ready during peak meltdown time (also known at 4pm), or trying to explain to an almost 2 year old that dinner needs to cook for another 5, 10, 15 minutes.  It’s just ready to serve when hunger strikes!

I’ve also been trying to incorporate at least one meatless day a week into our meal planning, offering up healthy substitutes like tofu and legumes, which are much cheaper than meat and give us all a break from animal protein.  I whipped up this particular dish earlier this week on a whim using things I happened to have on hand – and I must say it turned out quite tasty. Even the toddler gobbled it up! I love exposing my kids to such bright flavours – no chicken fingers or mac & cheese in this kitchen! This one is definitely going to make its way into our regular rotation.

Lentil Cauliflower Crock-pot Curry

Ingredients

  • 2 cups red lentils (you could use any kind of lentil)
  • 1 cooking onion, diced
  • 2 medium carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 1 small head cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp minced ginger
  • 1 can (28 fl oz) diced tomato + one can full of water
  • 2 tbsp red curry paste
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Cayenne to taste (I didn’t include this for the little one but I’d start with about 1/4 tsp and then adjust according to your preference)
  • Cilantro for garnish

Directions

Put all ingredients in the crock-pot.  Fill the empty can of tomatoes with water and add to ingredients. Stir and set to low for 6-8 hours.  Around 15 minutes before serving, remove lid to evaporate any extra liquid.  Serve with naan bread or over rice.

Image

I didn’t have any cilantro on hand but next time I’d add it for garnish and an extra kick of flavour.

 

Image

The little man’s portion – he ate the whole thing plus extra naan!

Easy right?? I might try adding some light coconut milk next time as well to give it a bit of a twist.  The nice thing about this kind of dish is that you can adjust the seasoning and flavours to suit your palette.

Enjoy! 🙂

One thought on “Lentil Cauliflower Crock-pot Curry

Leave a Reply

