Quinoa Carrot Muffins

I could live on coffee these days, but I limit myself to 1 (ok maybe 1 1/2) cup a day.

I could live on coffee these days, but I limit myself to 1 (ok maybe 1 1/2) cup a day.

I haven’t had a whole lot of time or energy to get much of anything done lately, aside from the necessary day to day stuff like dishes, laundry and showering…and even then, it doesn’t all get done (I won’t tell you which).  Eating is another thing that’s been getting put on the back burner, replaced by nursing, burping, rocking, nursing some more, burping, rocking…you get the picture (I’m actually nursing as I type this with one hand hehe).  This is a problem because I am hungry all.the.time.  So I decided to help myself out a bit by making a healthy, easy to grab snack that I can eat with one hand.  I had some leftover quinoa so I Googled for muffin recipes to use it up and found this Quinoa Carrot Muffin recipe.

I am no baker by any stretch of the imagination.  I’ve got one or two go-to recipes that I’ve mastered and the rest usually result in disaster, so I wasn’t overly optimistic about this one, but figured I’d give a shot anyway.  It actually turned out really well.

photo 1-4

Fingers crossed!

I did make a few small changes:

1 ) I didn’t have any apple sauce, so I substituted with canola oil.  Obviously this takes away the low-fatness and made them a little more moist than they probably should be.

2) I used golden raisins.  I find them better for baking.

photo 3-4

Success!

So far the whole family’s approved them and I would make them again, however I think next time I’d play with the spices a bit, add some clove and nutmeg to give them a bit more of a flavour kick, and I’d use applesauce as stated in the recipe.

As a bonus, here’s a shot of my little baking sidekick – she got to stay nice and snug while I mixed and stirred 🙂

LOVE my Boba wrap (http://www.bobafamily.com/). I highly recommend it for any new mom :)

LOVE my Boba wrap (http://www.bobafamily.com/). I highly recommend it for any new mom 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Quinoa Carrot Muffins

Leave a Reply

