DIY Baby Hats

Our little lady is one week old (already!!) and we’re loving every minute with her.  She’s still teeny tiny so we’ve had to go out and buy some smaller, warmer outfits.  We’re also in the middle of a deep freeze with a freshly fallen 20cm of snow today.  Unfortunately, most of the baby hats out there are way too big or a very strange fit (what’s with that???).  So I decided to try my hand at making my own out of things we’ve got around the house.

The first I made used up a pair of old leg warmers that I’d bought for a Flashdance Hallowe’en costume and never worn again.

IMG-20131213-01224

I cut the leg warmer in half – I had originally thought of just making an overhand knot with the top, but the fabric was too thick, so I cut out a U-shaped chunk down the middle of the top part, about half-way down the length of the piece.

IMG-20131213-01226

Then I tied the two side pieces together, twice, and voilà! Easy baby hat with a cute bow on top.

IMG-20131213-01229

Of course, I wasn’t really 100% satisfied with this hat given that it can easily come apart, so I decided to step it up a notch and bust out the sewing machine.

I used a light pink cotton t-shirt I hadn’t worn in years – notice that I didn’t even bother washing or ironing it first.

DIY the lazy way - I figured I'd wash and iron the hat once it was finished.

DIY the lazy way – I figured I’d wash and iron the hat once it was finished.

I lined up the bottom hems and cut out a Hershey’s kiss shape.  I used an existing store-bought baby hat to determine the size I needed, which was about 6in wide and 4in high to fit the baby’s head – I added another 4 or 5in for the “peak”.  The cotton has stretch in it so I wasn’t too worried about being exact with my measurements.

P1020555

Then I just sewed the two pieces together, wrong sides facing, turned it inside out and overhand knotted the top.  A perfect custom fit 🙂

I think it's pretty cute!

I think it’s pretty cute!

Confession: In my sleep-deprived haze I actually forgot to flip one of the pieces before sewing so one side of the hat has the wrong side facing out.  Luckily it’s not very obvious, but it bugs me, so I think when I have a bit of time I’ll try using the rest of the t-shirt to make another hat, I’ll just have to hem the bottom of the hat myself given that I’ve used up the existing ones already.

One thought on “DIY Baby Hats

Leave a Reply

