Minky Blanket

I’ve been debating what I would write as my first official post, then I thought my most recent sewing project would be just as good a place to start as any.

We have a little lady on the way.  She’s due 3 days before Christmas (I’m not-so-secretly hoping she arrives a little earlier).  It’ll be cold and windy for the first few months of her life and I want to make sure I can keep her warm and cozy, but still looking like a classy lady.

I was going through the scraps of fabric I already have and found good sized chunks of ivory minky and floral cotton.  I decided I’d try my hand at a satin trimmed minky blanket.  I was nervous at first but it turned out to be much easier than I thought. The toughest part was pinning the binding and mitering the corners. I bought taupe blanket binding – such fun stuff! It comes already folded so this is quite possibly the easiest blanket ever.

I didn’t take pictures of the work in progress (will do that for future projects) but essentially all I did was put the 2 pieces of of fabric wrong sides together and pinned the binding around the edges, mitering the corners.  I started the binding part way through a long edge of the fabric and folded  in the finishing edge to ensure there was no fraying.  I used a simple zig-zag stitch and matching thread (taupe). I started by sewing the binding ends together first to make sure it didn’t move around as I did the rest of the blanket. The rest was a simple straight stitch along the edges of the blanket, leaving about a quarter inch of the outside edge of the binding.  And voilà! Easy peasy 🙂

Here is the finished product (apologies for the not so great photo – will work on these in the future):

Image

Leave a Reply

